EDBT 2019 Test of Time Award

Established in 2014, the Test-of-Time Award awarded by the Extended Database Technology (EDBT) Conference recognizes papers presented at EDBT Conferences that have had the most impact in terms of research, methodology, conceptual contribution, or transfer to practice over the past ten years.

The EDBT 2019 Test of Time Award committee was formed by:
    Laura Haas, UMass Amherst, United States
    Alon Halevy, United States
    Melanie Herschel, Universität Stuttgart, Germany

After careful consideration, the committee has decided to select the following paper as the EDBT ToT Award winner for 2019:

Shore-MT: a scalable storage manager for the multicore era.
by Ryan Johnson, Ippokratis Pandis, Nikos Hardavellas, Anastasia Ailamaki, Babak Falsafi.
In ACM Proceedings of the 12th International Conference on Extending Database Technology (EDBT'09) Pages 24-35

This paper presented a stress test for storage manager's thread scalability on four open-source storage managers on a multicore machine. The results showed that all systems suffer from scalability bottlenecks at the storage engine level. From that research emerged Shore-MT, the first truly multithreaded and highly scalable storage manager.

The committee members agreed that this paper clearly stands out in terms of methodology, impact, and influence. It has catalyzed and enabled substantial follow-up research and has demonstrated its high relevance to industry.

The EDBT Test-of-Time award for 2019 will be presented during the EDBT/ICDT 2019 Conference as part of the Awards session on Wednesday, March 27, 2019, 2 - 3:30 pm by Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL, Switzerland).

Back to awards